Clark County was created by the legislature of Missouri Territory on DEC. 15, 1818, and named for the territorial governor, William Clark. It comprised, roughly, all of the present Clark, Hot Spring, Garland, Pike and Dallas counties. Early county seats were at or near the homes of Jacob Barkman on the Caddo and Adam Stroud near Hollywood, and the town of Biscoeville. In 1880 the seat was established at Greenville, where it remained for twelve years, but was moved to Arkadelphia in 1892.